NetMarketingForum.com v4.0


Want to see your banner above? Click Here!
It is currently Thu Sep 02, 2010 9:29 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Do you use ClickAudit? You'll want to read this...
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 1:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 9:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: New Zealand
ALERT!

I just upgraded to FireFox 3.0.1, and now, "horrors!" the clickaudit links I've used in my advertising bring up this message:

Reported Web Forgery!
This web site at http://www.clickaudit.com has been reported as a web forgery and has been blocked based on your security preferences.


It goes on to say that the site concerned is suspected of being a "Phishing" site!

It doesn't happen with Internet Explorer.... that browser displays the site just fine. But probably half of us use Mozilla Firefox, and if half of us have upgraded to the new version, that means any advertising using clickaudit is only going to be 75% effective.

(Bummer about those solo ads I just sent out!)

So if you use Clickaudit, I'd advise you to get busy and find a different ad tracker to use. I'm using urlfreeze and linkbrander, which are both free and Firefox-friendly (so far!) but there are plenty of others available.

I've always liked Clickaudit - especially the simple, condensed layout for the links - and have used it a fair bit. Now I'm having to change all my links where I've used clickaudit to track my ads. No small task either! But I thought I owed it to my fellow netizens to tell you what's up as soon as possible...

_________________
Regards,
Brenda

Are you surfing with little to show for it? Read this free report and turn things around!



Top
 Profile  
 

Want to see your banner above? Click Here!

 Post subject: Re: Do you use ClickAudit? You'll want to read this...
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:14 am 
Offline
NMF Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:01 pm
Posts: 316
Thanks for the warning Brenda. I don't use ClickAudit myself, but I'm sure that a lot of people here do. They should appreciate the heads up!

Drive Safe,
Noah

_________________
FindTraffic.net - Free Manual Traffic Exchange


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Do you use ClickAudit? You'll want to read this...
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 8:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 9:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: New Zealand
Post Script

I sent a message to clickaudit support, alerting them to the problem. They may be able to provide a fix of some sort.

_________________
Regards,
Brenda

Are you surfing with little to show for it? Read this free report and turn things around!



Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Do you use ClickAudit? You'll want to read this...
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:03 pm 
Offline
NMF Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 2:25 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Washington, DC
kiwib wrote:
Post Script

I sent a message to clickaudit support, alerting them to the problem. They may be able to provide a fix of some sort.


Just a guess but could it possibly be just a mismatched domain certificate?

That could be a matter of them just having left off the www on their address. If they're address is showing as http://clickaudit.com but their certificate has it listed as http://www.clickaudit.com , there's a discrepancy and it will set off security alerts.

Happened to one of my websites a couple years back. For a couple months all my visitors were seeing a warning every time they entered the site.........nobody even bothered to tell me lol. I discovered it myself one day and fixed it in 2 seconds.

_________________
-- Click4Silver Traffic Exchange --



Top
 Profile  
 

Want to see your banner above? Click Here!

 Post subject: Re: Do you use ClickAudit? You'll want to read this...
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:51 pm 
Offline
NMF Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 10:45 am
Posts: 779
From what I understand, Google manages a database of phising and fraud URLs. Firefox3 checks this database before loading a URL, and blocks any that are listed. There is a "Report Web Forgery" link on the help menu in Firefox3, where you can report a phising scheme to Google.

I've never used ClickAudit, but they seem to be a popular service. Google apparently failed to research the service before marking it as a phising URL. I find this to be very alarming. Could the same thing happen to other legitimate URLs and tracking services?

_________________
Josh Abbott

FiveHits - Get more from your click
LFMTE - Powerful yet easy to use traffic exchange script
LJ Fix - The #1 collection of mods for the LJ
IntelliBanners - The original banner rotator and co-op
TrafficMods - IPN, SurfingGuard, and other TE script mods


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Do you use ClickAudit? You'll want to read this...
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:55 pm 
Offline
NMF Professional
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 5:30 pm
Posts: 1196
Location: Indiana
Josh Abbott wrote:
From what I understand, Google manages a database of phising and fraud URLs. Firefox3 checks this database before loading a URL, and blocks any that are listed. There is a "Report Web Forgery" link on the help menu in Firefox3, where you can report a phising scheme to Google.

I've never used ClickAudit, but they seem to be a popular service. Google apparently failed to research the service before marking it as a phising URL. I find this to be very alarming. Could the same thing happen to other legitimate URLs and tracking services?


Sure, spybot search & destroy blocks viralurl.com
It's a legitimate service, but some sites on there aren't.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 

 Post subject: Re: Do you use ClickAudit? You'll want to read this...
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 7:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 9:22 pm
Posts: 13
Location: New Zealand
Josh, you got it. I received a reply from clickaudit admin after emailing them to alert them to the problem. Here's what they said:

Quote:
Thank you for advising us of this situation.

We are aware of the problem and have contacted Google who supply Mozilla/Firefox with the data they use for classifying web sites.

We have no idea why Google thinks we are a phishing web site and until they respond there is nothing we can do.

We apologise for the inconvenience this is causing but things are beyond our control at this point.


Ties in perfectly with what you wrote.

When you think of how complex the Net is, with the different browsers, sites, programs etc, it's actually quite surprising that there aren't more problems that we do face! This is just a case in point really. And we are not lost, because there are lots of ad trackers from which to choose :-)

_________________
Regards,
Brenda

Are you surfing with little to show for it? Read this free report and turn things around!



Top
 Profile  
 

Want to see your banner above? Click Here!

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group